By Frederick Anyine

Mbarara district local government council has elected new chairpersons of five sectoral committees with caution to concentrate on service delivery.

The District council meeting sitting at district council hall Kamukuzi was chaired by the District Speaker Venance Munanukye and attended by the Mbarara district chairperson Tabaro Didus Tumwesigye, RDC Mbarara Turyabagyenyi Emmanuel Kateera and deputy Chief Administrative Officer Mbarara district Fred Tushabe Rugara and departmental heads. 

In his speech, the Mbarara district chairperson Tabaro congratulated all those elected into positions of leadership including his political assistant and district councilor representing Bukiro town council Saverious Nuwagira who was voted by secret ballot as chairperson works and technical services.

Other chairpersons of sectoral committees voted were Bishanga Julius the district councilor representing the Rubaya sub county as the chairperson production and marketing, Mrs Nasasira Memory remained the chairperson for Community Based Services and Joseph Arinaitwe elected the chairperson finance, planning and administration. 

Also voted was Ms Agnes Natamba the chairperson social services which administers education and health services.

Addressing the Mbarara district council, RDC Mbarara Turyabagyenyi Emmanuel Kateera called for collective cooperation in service delivery to leave legacy for the future leaders to learn from which must be achieved when all stakeholders could accept to  work as a team.

He warned that as local leaders need to avoid wasting time in politics of conflicts but must focus in serving the people.