Parliament  approved the creation of 66 new seats, bringing to 531 the total number of MPs in the next Parliament.
The House, chaired by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga, also approved an amendment to the earlier resolution that led to the creation of 15 new cities to allow Hoima, Soroti and Lira cities to be operationalised as of July 1.
This means 10 cities are now in operation and are set to elect their leaders in the next General Election. Others are Mbarara, Fort Portal, Masaka, Gulu, Arua, Jinja and Mbale.

The new seats created include the 46 new counties, a new constituency carved out of Nakawa Division, the 10 Woman MPs for the new cities and the nine new positions created in divisions of the new cities.

Apart from Jinja City, which had two MPs representing Jinja Municipality West and Jinja Municipality East, each of the nine other cities will bring an additional MP after they were all given two divisions that require Parliamentary representation.
The first set of the constituencies had been approved by Cabinet in June but were not approved after several MPs questioned the criteria when the proposed constituencies in their district had been left out.
On Monday, Cabinet approved 31 others and also created Nakawa West out of the current Nakawa Division in Kampala.

After the approval of a motion moved by Local Government minister Raphael Magyezi to have the 47 new constituencies created, the House also approved another motion by Deputy Attorney General Jackson Kafuuzi to have the number of constituencies in the country increased from 296 to 353.
This means the 353 MPs will be directly elected and others will be voted for through the affirmative action and include Woman representatives for districts and cities, and representatives for the special interest groups.
Parliament has 445 MPs and12 Ex-officios to make a total number of 457 members.